Hiway is happy to announce that Jeff Schwalen has been appointed Board Chair following the 89th Annual Meeting which was held on April 28, 2021. Schwalen takes over for Patrick McGuiness, whose three-year term as the Board Chair expired. McGuiness, who joined the Hiway Board of Directors in April 2011, will continue as a Board Member. 

“We are extremely grateful to Patrick for his leadership of the Board and what he has helped Hiway accomplish as the Board Chair the past three years,” said Dave Boden, Hiway President/CEO. “Hiway has undergone incredible growth the past 36 months and it has been a pleasure to work alongside him during that time. We are equally excited to welcome Jeff to the Chair role. Jeff has been a board member for eight years and he has been a part of Hiway for over 20 years. He provides a unique background, and his perspective and knowledge of the industry will allow us to continue to grow and evolve.”

Schwalen served as Hiway’s CEO for 10 years, retiring in 2013. Under his leadership, the credit union developed a reputation for offering innovative products and services to its members. He was appointed to the Hiway Board in January 2014 following his retirement. During his career, Schwalen was active in the Minnesota credit union movement, serving as a table officer and member of the Minnesota Credit Union Network board of directors from 2007-2013. He was also past chairman of MnCUN’s Political Involvement Committee and CENCOPAN Partnership Steering Committee, a group active in international credit union development in Paraguay.

In addition to Schwalen’s appointment, incumbents Kim Collins and John Dillingham were also appointed to serve for another three-year term. 

The following appointments were also made following the Credit Union’s Annual Meeting:

  • Lori Hodapp, Vice-Chair
  • Pam Tschida, Secretary

Gordy Kordosky and Cory Starkweather were also reappointed to serve another three-year term on the Supervisory Committee.

2021 Hiway Board of Directors

  • Jeff Schwalen - Chair
  • Lori Hodapp - Vice-Chair
  • Pam Tschida - Secretary
  • Kimberly Collins - Director
  • Doug Differt - Director
  • John Dillingham - Director
  • Leonard Leitner - Director
  • Patrick McGuiness - Director
  • Sue Mulvihill - Director
  • Sophia Xiong-Yang - Associate Board Member